If you’re vegan and feel sad at the thought that you can’t eat any of the marshmallows that do the rounds when Easter arrives, don’t fret! You can make your own delicious and unique vegan marshmallows.
Regular marshmallows pose a double threat to vegans: first, if they have chocolate on them this is a dead giveaway of dairy; and second, they contain gelatin (which is made by boiling the skin, bones, ligaments and/or tendons of pigs or cows). So, by choosing a recipe that skips both of these ingredients, you get to have creative and totally vegan marshmallows.
Try this vegan recipe on for size.
What you will need:
- 2 teaspoons organic vanilla
- 1 cup of water (separate it so that you have two cups filled in half)
- 2 and 1/2 tablespoons agar-agar (this is a vegan gelling agent derived from seaweed)
- 1/4 teaspoon salt
- 1 and 1/2 cups sugar
- 1/2 cup and 2 tablespoons organic corn syrup
- Powdered sugar to line your baking tray
- Parchment paper
1. First, mix 1/2 cup of water with the vanilla and sprinkle agar-agar powder over it. You will need to set this aside for an hour.
2. In the meantime, mix the corn syrup, sugar, salt and the other 1/2 cup of water in a saucepan until it boils. Stir it a little so that it thickens.
3. Place the agar mixture into your mixer where you will blend it at medium speed. Carefully add the hot syrup you’ve made in step 2.
4. Blend them together on high speed for about 10 minutes.
5. Line your baking dish with some parchment paper, then sprinkle powdered sugar over it.
6. Place the marshmallow mixture onto it. Cover it well and let it sit overnight.
7. The next day, take the hardened marshmallow mixture and place it on a cutting board where you will cut it up into squares or other shapes.
There you go – delicious vegan marshmallows! You can add them to your hot cocoa for a lovely treat or drizzle melted chocolate over them. For an extra chocolatey spin on the recipe, add cocoa to it so that you get chocolate-flavoured marshmallows.